The European Commission adopted the ESPON 2013 Programme, the European observation network for territorial observation and cohesion, on 7 November 2007 (Commission Decision C(2007) 5313).

The ESPON 2013 Programme shall support policy development in relation to the aim of territorial cohesion and a harmonious development of the European territory. It shall provide comparable information, evidence, analyses and scenarios on framework conditions for the development of regions, cities and larger territories.

In doing so, ESPON shall be facilitating the mobilisation of territorial capital and development opportunities, contributing to improving European competitiveness, to the widening and deepening of European territorial cooperation and to a sustainable and balanced development.

All 27 EU Member States and Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland will participate and contribute financially to the implementation of the programme, its 5 priorities and actions.

The programme is part-financed by the European Regional Development Fund under Objective 3 for European Territorial Cooperation. The total budget for the period 2007-2013 is €47 mill.

The Monitoring Committee for the ESPON 2013 Programme is composed of one representative of each EU Member State (EU27) and one representative of each Partner State (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland). Representatives of the European Commission participate as an advisory capacity.


ESPON 2013 Programme

  • Acrobat Document | 340KB

Report on Ex-ante evaluation ESPON 2013 Programme

  • Acrobat Document | 819KB

SEA Screening Report

  • Acrobat Document | 191KB